Skip to toolbar

Who's Your Greatest Supporter?

I was halfway through college when I was diagnosed, so I took on my new life with T1D all on my own. In hindsight, I probably wasn’t able to take on life with T1D totally alone. I didn’t live with my parents and my friends didn’t really know how to support me, even though they tried. I was in and out of the hospital and constantly sick for my first two years after diagnosis. When I graduated college last May, I moved to NYC to work at JDRF. My life changed so much when I met other people with T1D for the first time.

I realized what I was missing after meeting several new dia-coworkers. They’re there for me all the time, like when Brian bought me low snacks to keep at my desk or when Kady got me involved with clinical trials. Like the times Arielle chatted about the struggles in life with T1D over lunch, and when Lala gave me tips about eating different foods. I feel support when Aamna and I check on each other every morning since we became roommates, and when she lets me borrow her juice when I run out.

My three year diaversary is in a couple of weeks, and I finally feel like I know what I’m doing with T1D. I couldn’t be happier to have found that my greatest supporters are the people who sit right next to me every day.

Who are your greatest supporters? How has the T1D community impacted you in your journey with T1D?

• Must say I am kind of jealous that you have such personal interaction with other T1’s! My only real support has been through online forums like this one and a couple others. I missed the walk this year, but will definitely be going next time.